Reading at the Tattered Cover, December 13, 2008

It was a weird experience–standing up at the podium, waxing poetic, trying out one liners, answering some very engaging questions about process, etc. (For the podcast, jump here.)

At several moments, it felt as if I were no longer up there, but some sort of double, some other person, playing the part of author, chatting away with all the ease and time in the world.

I read around eight poems–my wife helped me choose them, bless her.

The titles:

  • Giacometti
  • Tomatoes
  • Elvis Ideal
  • Ned Falls
  • Albany Winter
  • The Apple
  • The Far Badlands
  • Thruway Mall Atrium, 1980
  • Blue Haze, Goodnight Moon

Afterward, I got to sign the famous Tattered Cover author guestbook. In it, I wrote perhaps the worst haiku in the world, and signed my name to it. Why not?

One thought on “Reading at the Tattered Cover, December 13, 2008

Leave a Reply

